1. Home
  2. Software - Inventory & Tracking
  3. Duplicate Security Groups – Problem Article

Duplicate Security Groups – Problem Article

Bookmark(1)

Summary

This article explains the problem of duplicate security groups created during some upgrades of BACKTRACK and suggests ways to approach and resolve the problems that these duplicates create.

Symptoms

When running BACKTRACK, error messages appear each time the feature involves the User Database.  So, for example, if a Check-out is selected, the error appears when BACKTRACK tries to contact the User Database so the BACKTRACK user can select the ‘Check-out User’.

Explanation

Security Groups are setup in the admin part of BACKTRACK to control user access.  In migrations from older versions of BACKTRACK (v6 or earlier) we often see duplicate records created for each Security Group in BACKTRACK.

After the upgrade is performed on the old database, the Security Group list has duplicate security groups listed.  This will trigger errors every time BT needs to access the User table.  Error messages appear for each function of BACKTRACK that requires a reference to the user table.  This includes Check-out, Check-in, etc.

Solution

The duplicates need to be removed.  Since this duplicate is a duplication of the key field (Security Group name), SQL Management Studio IS NOT an effective way to remove it.

A better approach is to create two new groups (e.g. Administrator1 and Everyone1) and then delete the old groups (e.g. Administrator and Everyone).  When the old ones are deleted, this will force BACKTRACK to move all the users assigned to the old Security Group to the new one.

Additional Comments

Updated on October 2, 2023

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Need Help?
Click the link below to submit a support ticket
Submit Ticket