1. Home
  2. Labeling Software
  3. TEKLYNX CENTRAL
  4. TEKLYNX CENTRAL Reference
  5. UMSS Group Permissions: LAS \ Data Access \ Categories – Reference Article

UMSS Group Permissions: LAS \ Data Access \ Categories – Reference Article

Summary

The Categories permissions for the Data Access part of the LAS section within the TEKLYNX CENTRAL UMSS Server User Group Property Permissions controls general user access to the Categories table.  This article explains these permissions in detail.

LAS \ Data Access \ Categories

Information

In TEKLYNX CENTRAL this UMSS permission controls ALL access to ALL Categories and supersedes all permissions given to or suspended from individual Categories listed under the LAS/Categories section.

Permissions Meanings

Delete*  – allows the user to delete a category from the existing folder structure and all nested or subordinate Categories.  TEKLYNX will allow a Category to be deleted even if there are label designs and/or nested Categories stored within it.  Removal of a Category (i.e. set to Is Deleted) for an existing label design does NOT remove the label design itself, but it DOES remove access to that label design.

Update – this permission will allow the users to change settings recorded within the record for each category.  Specific changes include:

  • Category name
  • Lock at Checkout’ status
  • Archiving operations
  • Approval type (e.g. Three State Approval?)
  • Approval rule default settings

Insert – allows the creation of new Sub-Categories (i.e. folders) in the selected folder.

Query – this allows the user to ‘see’ the Categories.  Removing permissions to view the Categories essentially means access to the labels designs (for Check in, Check out, History, etc.) is cut off.  The label designs still exist, they just cannot be searched without the ability to query the Category assigned.

* In this case, ‘Delete’ does not mean the data is removed from the database.  Instead TC sets the information (e.g. record on the table) to ‘Is Deleted’ status.  This keeps the information in the database but instructs TC to ignore it as if it was deleted.

Updated on December 31, 2017

Was this article helpful?

Need Support?
Can’t find the answer you’re looking for? Don’t worry we’re here to help!
Contact Support