This section of UMSS permissions controls user access to each specific category. Each permission is contingent and superseded by the permission granted under LAS \ Data Access \ Categories. This article explains these permissions in detail.
LAS \ Categories
When storing label designs in the LABEL ARCHIVE / TEKLYNX CENTRAL, the UMSS permissions for “Categories” specify the folder names, structure, and settings. TEKLYNX CENTRAL stores these folder names and folder structure in the dbo.tblCategories table located in the LABELARCHIVE database. The permission options control the user’s ability to direct TC to use SQL commands to manipulate the data in that table.
IMPORTANT – These functions are contingent upon “Categories” settings under LAS / Data Access. Unless the specific functions are allowed under Data Access / Categories. Changes in Permissions here STRICTLY affects ONLY the “Category” (i.e. folder) names, structure, and settings.
Delete* – allows the user to delete a category from the existing folder structure and all nested or subordinate Categories. TEKLYNX will allow a Category to be deleted even if there are label designs and/or nested Categories stored within it. Removal of a Category (i.e. set to Is Deleted) for an existing label design does NOT remove the label design itself, but it DOES remove access to that label design.
Update – this permission will allow the users to change settings recorded within the record for each category. Specific changes include:
- Category Name
- Lock at Checkout’ status
- Archiving operations
- Approval type (e.g. Three State Approval?)
- Approval rule default settings
Insert – allows the creation of new Sub-Categories (i.e. folders) in the selected folder.
Query – this allows the user to ‘see’ the Categories. Removing permissions to view the Categories essentially means access to the labels designs (for Check in, Check out, History, etc.) is cut off. The label designs still exist, they just cannot be searched without the ability to query the Category assigned.
* In this case, ‘Delete’ does not mean the data is removed from the database. Instead TC sets the information (e.g. record on the table) to ‘Is Deleted’ status. This keeps the information in the database but instructs TC to ignore it as if it was deleted.